General Overview

Department of Zoology and Wildlife Conservation The Department of Zoology was established in 1965 in what was then the University College of East Africa. In 1970 the College attained its present status of the University of Dar es Salaam. In 1976 the Department was renamed Zoology and Marine Biology following the establishment of the Marine Biology Section. Department attained its current name in 2005 to reflect the departure of the Marine Biology Unit, and the increasing role of Wildlife Conservation in the Department. The department is as old as the Faculty of Science (now College of Natural and Applied Sciences) which started 1965 and it is among the largest departments at the University of Dar es Salaam.

Head of Department

Dr Flora Magige